Obong University’s Computer Science Programme Gets Full NUC Accreditation

The National Universities Commission, NUC has given full accreditation to the Computer Science Programme at Obong University, Obong Ntak in Etim Ekpo L.G.A of Akwa Ibom State, for the training of students in Computer Science and Information technology.

The full accreditation status which follows the last accreditation visit of National Universities Commission accreditation team to Obong University in September 2014, has now opened the way for the institution to admit fresh students into a four year and Direct Entry students into a three year degree programme in Computer Science beginning in 2014/2015 session.

In a letter dated February 10, 2015, and signed by the Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission, Prof. Julius Okojie (CON), the commission said it was satisfied with the existing academic standard at Obong University for the purpose of training students for a degree in Computer Science and Information Technology.

Reacting to the good news, the Vice Chancellor of Obong University Prof. Udoudo Moses Ekanemesang said the decision of the NUC granting full accreditation status to the Department of computer Science of the University is a clear indication of the high quality of the academic curriculum and staffing in the department of computer science, even as the University strives to uphold such high standards across all programmes in the university.

Prof Ekanemesang said in pursuance of the strategic vision of turning Obong University into one of the most sought-after tertiary institution in Nigeria, the Management of the institution is recruiting highly qualified academic and non-academic staff and implementing best practices in all departments. The university is also developing requisite infrastructures, including applicable technologies that will give its graduates competitive edge nationally.

Meanwhile, preparations have reached an advanced stage for the hosting of yet another accreditation team from the National Universities Commission for the accreditation of seven new programmes in the institution.

The new programmes include Business Administration, Public Administration, Marketing, Political Science, International Relations, Sociology, Peace and Conflict Management. Admission for these programmes is scheduled to commence in the first semester of 2015/2016 session.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.